England´s World Cup squad

The team that will represent England in this summer’s World Cup in Russia was made public last week, and came with a few surprises. For example – Pickford, Pope and Butland filled the three goalkeeper spots in favor of Joe Hart. Today, Gareth Southgate announced who will be the team captain during the 2018 World Cup in England’s team – Harry Kane. 

Before the announcement about the final squad for the upcoming World Cup, the big question was if Joe Hart was going to keep the place he’s had for the last big tournaments. But after a heavy season with West Ham, Hart lost his No.1 spot for the Three Lions. Instead, Burnley’s Nick Pope will have the chance to show what he’s made of. Jordan Pickford and Jack Butland takes the remaining to goalkeeper spots, Pickford being the favorite to start between the sticks in Russia.

Another surprise was the fact that Arsenal’s Jack Wilshere didn’t get a place in the squad. A little bit less surprising was however Southgate’s choice of team captain. The captain’s armband will be worn by Tottenham front figure Harry Cane during the 2018 World Cup. This is the entire team that will be representing England in Russia:


Jordan Pickford, Everton

Jack Butland, Stoke

Nick Pope, Burnley


Gary Cahill, Chelsea

Phil Jones, Man United

John Stones, Man City

Kieran Trippier, Tottenham

Danny Rose, Tottenham

Trent Alexander-Arnold, Liverpool

Harry Maguire, Everton

Ashley Young, Man United

Fabian Delph, Man City


Dele Alli, Tottenham

Eric Dier, Tottenham

Jordan Henderson, Liverpool

Harry Kane, Tottenham

Jesse Lingard, Man United

Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Crystal Palace (lån från Chelsea)

Marcus Rashford, Man United

Raheem Sterling, Man City

Jamie Vardy, Leicester

Kyle Walker, Man City

Danny Welbeck, Arsenal


England will begin their campaign in Group G against Tunisia on June 18th. After that awaits fixtures against Panama on June 24 and Belgium on June 28.

Bet on the Three Lions in the World Cup at Unibet


Skribent: Linnea

Skriven den 22 May, 2018